Related Articles

- About Nadasurabhi
- Nadasurabhi Office Bearers

In the year 1993, senior Mridangam Vidwan Sri.T.A.S. Mani initiated the idea of establishing a Music Sabha in Koramangala, to conduct regular carnatic music programmes. He, along with Vidwan R.A.Rajagopal and his disciples, Vidwan V.R.Chandrasekhar, R.P.Ravishankar and Omkar Rao started conducting concerts at the residence of Sri.R.P.Ravishankar.

On 2nd March 1995, the organization was formally registered with the Registrar of Societies, as a charitable Trust under the banner of Nadasurabhi Cultural Association. The first president was Vidwan V.R.Chandrasekhar. The monthly programmes were moved to the residence of Sri.P.V.Rao, who is one of the founder members.

In 1999, came the landmark positive turning point in the organization, with Air Marshal P.M.Ramachandran, taking over the reins as President of Nadasurabhi. Air Marshal's exemplary leadership qualities, saw the appointment of a professional and dedicated executive committee, perfect accounting systems, special drive to enlarge the membership base, following of all statutory rules, maintenance of records, conduct of monthly meetings of the executive committee and other all round improvement in the functioning of Nadasurabhi.

In 2000, Sri.D.S.Gopinath, took over as President. He took special care in maintaining the high standards set by Air Marshal Ramachandran. He also set up systems and procedures for the smooth and efficient running of the organization. The concerts started to be conducted at the Indian Hertage Academy Hall, thanks to the whole hearted appreciation and support from Padmabhushan Prof. N.S.Ramaswamy (CARTMAN).

In 2002, Sri.K.S.S.Raghavan, was inducted as the President. While carrying forward the good work done by his predecessors, he also realized the growth in the organization and was instrumental in shifting the venue of the Annual Festivals to the much more spacious Hall at the St.John's Medical College in the centre of Koramangala. Also, in 2003, being the 10 year, a ten day long music and dance festival was conducted with most leading artists performing during

the period. This was also named "The best of Nadasurabhi" Festival.

In 2004, Brig. N.H.Narayan took over as President. A man of enormous zeal and drive, he worked relentlessly in increasing the base of the organization and also was the architect of unprecedented fund raising campaigns for the festivals. The collections reached record level during his tenure.

In 2006, Smt.Harini Raghavan was unanimously elected President under the strong recommendation of Air Marshal Ramachandran. A new 3 day Youth festival was started in 2007, along with the usual Thyagaraja Aradhana conducted in February every year, to encourage upcoming artists and provide them with a platform to present their talent. Also, during this year, a special award for a senior artist "Sangeetha Surabhi" was instituted.

In 2008. Shri.D.S.Gopinath has once again taken the leadership as President and many new innovative programmes have been initiated.

In the year 2010, Brig.N.H.Narayan once again took over as President. The venue for the annual festival was shifted to the professional St.John's Medical College Auditorium in 2011. In the year 2012, the festival was conducted in the new auditorium in the same campus which is attached to the Nurses College. This hall has excellent acoustics and ideally suited for music programmes.

In the year 2013, Sri.K.S.S.Raghavan took over as President. Sri.D.S.Gopinath was elevated to the position of Mentor of the organisation. The 20th Annual Festival was held during November 2013 in the St.John's Nurses College Auditorium and was once again a huge success with thousands of people participating in the week long event.

Thus the journey of cultural service and growth is going on and on......

Go to About Nadasurabhi

Go to Nadasurabhi Office Bearers